'The Necessity of Cell Types for Brain Function'

7-10 October, Moltkes Palæ, Copenhagen, Denmark


Co-chairs: Ed Lein, Allen Institute for Brain Science, Seattle, USA  and Rafael Yuste, Colombia University, New York, USA


Go to application

In spite of over a hundred years of research, neuroscientists still lack a general theory of how cortical circuits operate. This is partly due to the large complexity of cortical neuronal subtypes and their interconnectivity, which form the “impenetrable jungles where many investigators have lost themselves”, as Cajal put it. In fact, it is not even clear how many types of cortical neurons exist, and, without this “part list” it will be difficult to understand the structure and function of the cortical circuits. In the last decade, novel methods have been developed that enable the systematic sampling of the phenotypes of excitatory and inhibitory cortical neurons. These datasets may make possible the assembly of objective and quantitative classifications of cortical cell types. In this meeting we will review recent results from molecular, anatomical and functional mapping of cortical neurons, as well as computational methods to quantitatively define cell types and classify them. We will address and aim for a tangible consensus output for three questions: 1 - What is a cortical cell type? 2 - What are the basic cortical cell types? 3 - How should they be named?

Speakers overview

Detlev Arendt, EMBL Heidelberg, Germany
Giorgio Ascoli, George Mason University, USA
Javier DeFelipe, Cajal Institute, Spain
Gordon Fishell, NYU School of Medicine, USA
Onur Güntürkün, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany
Michael Hawrylycz, Allen Institute for Brain Science, USA
Moritz Helmstaedter, Max Planck Institute for Brain Research, Frankfurt, Germany
Suzana Herculano-Houzel, Vanderbilt University, USA
Jens Hjerling-Leffler, Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
Josh Huang, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, USA
Pedro Larrañaga, Technical University of Madrid, Spain
Ed Lein, Allen Institute for Brain Science, USA

Hannah Monyer, Heidelberg University, Germany
Maiken Nedergaard, University of Rochester Medical Center/University of Copenhagen, USA/Denmark
Joshua Sanes, Harvard University, USA
Idan Segev, The Hebrew University, Israel
Sebastian Seung, Princeton Neuroscience Institute, USA
Peter Somogyi, University of Oxford, England
Gabor Tamas, University of Szeged, Hungary
Andreas Tolias, Baylor College of Medicine, USA
Maria Tosches, Max Planck Institute for Brain Research, Frankfurt, Germany
Rafael Yuste, Columbia University in the City of New York, USA
Hongkui Zeng, Allen Institute for Brain Science, USA
Xiaowei Zhuang, Harvard University, USA

Scherfigsvej 7
2100 Copenhagen Ø
Tel. +45 39 12 80 00
CVR-nr. 11 81 49 13
Nils Axelsen Ralf Hemmingsen Lauritz Holm-Nielsen Ralf Hemmingsen Jens Oddershede Jens Frederik Rehfeld Anders Bjørklund