Monday 2 November 2014 until Wednesday 4 November 2015

Hindsgavl Castle, Middelfart, Denmark

'Imaging the Living Brain'


Prize winners

Winfried Denk, Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology, Martinsried, Germany
Arthur Konnerth, Technical University Munich, Germany
Karel Svoboda, Janelia Research Campus, HHMI, MD, USA
David W. Tank, Princeton University, NJ, USA

Invited speakers

Michale Fee, MIT, Cambridge, MA, USA
Fritjof Helmchen, University of Zurich Irchel, Switzerland
Chris Xu, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
Na Ji, Janelia Research Campus, HHMI, USA

Special lecture

Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University, New York, NY, USA

The meeting is certified by the University of Copenhagen, Aarhus University and the University of Southern Denmark as an external Ph.D. course worth 1 (one) ECTS point.

Arne Möller, Aarhus University, Trevor Owens, University of Southern Denmark, Jesper Mogensen, University of Copenhagen, Nicolas C. Petersen, Danish Society for Neuroscience and University of Copenhagen, Sanne Jessen, University of Copenhagen.

Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation in collaboration with University of Copenhagen, University of Southern Denmark, Aarhus University and Danish Society for Neuroscience.

Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation is the sole sponsor of this meeting.

The meeting is open to participants from Denmark and abroad. The meeting is open to junior and senior scientists in the field of basic as well as clinical brain research.
The number of participants is limited to 120.
The language is English.

Participants are invited and encouraged to submit one or more abstracts. Abstracts dealing with topics outside of the main theme of the meeting are also welcome. All submitted abstracts will be presented as either oral presentation or poster presentation.

Submit abstracts in pdf format max 350 words to info@thebrainprize.org att. Janne Axelsen.

Poster size: A0 = 1189 (H) x 841 (W) mm.

Deadline for abstracts: 08 October 2015.


A prize of 2.500 Euros will be awarded for the best presentation.

Approx. 10 parallel sessions. In each session, eight participants will have a series of 10 minute's 'one on one conversations'.

Online on a first come first serve basis - priority will be given to participants submitting an abstract.

Deadline for registration: 08 October 2015.

You will receive an e-mail invoice DKK 2500,- directly from Hindsgavl Castle. Your registration is complete and will be confirmed once your payment is received. Please note that the registration fee is non- refundable.

DKK 2500, - including all meals and lodging.

Once annually Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation awards The Brain Prize - a € 1 mio. personal prize. The prize is awarded as an important part of the aim of the Foundation: – 'to boost interest in brain research and its results, to stimulate and reward outstanding brain research and to stimulate Danish research through an expanded interplay with other European brain research, and thus to improve the scientific basis for progress in the prevention, diagnostics and treatment of diseases and disorders of the brain and nervous system’.

For further information, please contact Janne Axelsen: info@thebrainprize.org


Monday 2.11.15

  • 09.00 – 10.00 Arrival at Hindsgavl Castle

Session 1 – Chaired by Trevor Owens

  • 10.00 – 10.05 Opening remarks by the Chairman of the Foundation
  • 10.05 – 10.50 Keynote lecture by Winfried Denk: "Turning old physics into new neuroscience
  • 10.50 – 11.35 Short invited lecture by Arthur Konnerth: "Two-photon imaging of neuronal circuit dysfunction in Alzheimer's disease”                   
  • 11.35 – 11.50 Abstract no 1: “Control of motor behavior by regulation of the axon initial segment of motoneurons”
  • 11.50 – 12.05 Abstract no 6: “Neuronal endoplasmic reticulum undergoes rapid, activity-dependent, reversible and recurrent fission in brain in vivo”
  • 12.05 – 13.00 Lunch

Session 2 – Organized by Janne Axelsen and Sanne Jessen

  • 13.00 – 14.45 Science dating

Session 3 – Chaired by Nicolas C. Petersen

  • 15.00 – 15.45 Keynote lecture by Karel Svoboda: “Illuminating the neural circuits underlying tactile decisions”
  • 15.45 – 16.30 Keynote lecture by David W. Tank: “Neural circuit dynamics during an accumulation of evidence task”
  • 16.30 – 16.45 Break

Session 4 – Chaired by Jesper Mogensen

  • 16.45 – 17.30 Round table ‘all prize winners’  

Session 5 – Hosted by Sanne Jessen

  • 17.30 – 19.00 Poster viewing and refreshments 
  • 19.30 –           Dinner

Tuesday 03.11.15

Session 6 – Chaired by Arne Möller

  • 09.00 – 09.45 Invited keynote Iecture by Michale Fee: "Dynamics in the Brain: lessons from the songbird"
  • 09.45 – 10.00 Abstract no 5: “The postsynaptic PICK1- and PSD-95-interacting sorting receptor SORCS3 modulates hippocampal synaptic transmission and plasticity”
  • 10.00 – 10.15 Abstract no 25: “SorCS2 is required for BDNF dependent plasticity in the hippocampus”
  • 10.15 – 10.30 Abstract no 16: “Cultural transmission and evolution of musical systems through iterated signaling games”
  • 10.30 – 10.45 Coffee break

Session 7 – Chaired by Trevor Owens

  • 10.45 – 11.30 Invited keynote lecture by Fritjof Helmchen: "Imaging mesoscale brain dynamics: Starting to fill the gap"
  • 11.30 – 11.45 Abstract no 3: “Neurodevelopmental and stem cell-like properties of neonatal microglia”
  • 11.45 – 12.00 Abstract no 23: “Time-dependent functional and structural effects of acute stress on glutamate synapses”
  • 12.00 – 13.00 Lunch

Session 8 – Chaired by Nicolas C. Petersen

  • 13.00 – 13.45 Invited keynote lecture by Chris Xu: “three-photon imaging of mouse brain structure and function”
  • 13.45 – 14.00 Abstract no 21: “Functional Connectivity and Correlations with Psychopathology in Antipsychotic-Naïve First-Episode Schizophrenia Patients”
  • 14.00 – 14.15 Abstract no 18: “In vivo optical imaging cortical synaptic plasticity in a mouse model of Huntington`s diseases”
  • 14.15 – 14.30 Abstract no 17: “Kv7 channels localizes to the axon initial segment of neurons, but how?”
  • 14.30 – 15.00 Coffee break

Session 9 – Organized by Jesper Mogensen

  • 15.00 – 15.45 Invited keynote lecture by Na Ji: “From star to neuron – adaptive optical two-photon fluorescence microscopy for deep brain imaging”
  • 15.45 – 16.30 Special Lecture by Elizabeth Hillman: “SCAPE microscopy for high-speed 3D imaging of the living brain”

Session 9 – Chaired by Sanne Jessen

  • 16.30 – 18.30 Poster session and refreshments
  • 19.30 –           Gala dinner        

Wednesday 04.11.15

  • 09.00 – 10.00 Departure Hindsgavl Castle
Scherfigsvej 7
2100 Copenhagen Ø
Tel. +45 39 12 80 00
CVR-nr. 11 81 49 13
Nils Axelsen Ralf Hemmingsen Lauritz Holm-Nielsen Ralf Hemmingsen Jens Oddershede Jens Frederik Rehfeld Anders Bjørklund