With international top keynote speakers including the three 2017 prizewinners, The Brain Prize Meeting brings together young neuroscientists and top researchers at this high-level neuroscience event.

Monday 30 October 2017 until Wednesday 1 November 2017

Hindsgavl Castle, Middelfart, Denmark


Peter Dayan, University College London, United Kingdom
Ray Dolan, University College London, United Kingdom
Wolfram Schultz, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Invited keynote speakers
Roshan Cools, Radboud University Medical Center, The Netherlands
Patricia Janak, Johns Hopkins University, USA
Morten Kringelbach, University of Oxford & Aarhus University, United Kingdom and Denmark
Yael Niv, Princeton University, USA
Melanie Wilke, University Medicine Goettingen, Germany

Invited special lecture
Demis Hassabis, DeepMind, United Kingdom

'New Talent Talk'
Ciara McCabe, University of Reading, United Kingdom

The meeting is certified by the University of Copenhagen, Aarhus University and the University of Southern Denmark as an external Ph.D. course worth 1 (one) ECTS point. PhD students must submit an abstract to be eligible for the ECTS point.

Kamilla Miskowiak, Copenhagen University Hospital and University of Copenhagen, Morten Mørup, Technical University of Denmark, Duda Kvitsiani, Aarhus University, Jakob Kisbye Dreyer, University of Copenhagen, and Tanja Sheldrick-Michel, University of Southern Denmark

The Lundbeck Foundation in collaboration with Danish Universities and Danish Society for Neuroscience.

The Lundbeck Foundation is the sole sponsor of this meeting.

The meeting is open to junior and senior scientists in the field of basic as well as clinical neuroscience. The number of participants is limited to 120. The language is English.

Participants are invited and encouraged to submit one or more abstracts. All PhD students attending are required to submit an abstract. Abstracts dealing with topics outside of the main theme of the meeting are also welcome. All submitted abstracts will be presented as either short oral presentations or poster presentations.

Submit abstracts in pdf format max 350 words to att. Line Kristensen.

Poster size: A0 = 1189 (H) x 841 (W) mm.

Deadline for abstracts: 10 October 2017.

A prize of 2.500 Euros will be awarded for the best presentation and abstract. When registering, please indicate whether you would like to be considered for the Junior Brain Prize. Consideration for the prize requires submission of i) a resume/CV, ii) a nomination from your supervisor, and iii) a 100-word description of how your scientific project contributes to neuroscience in a broader perspective.

Online on a first come first serve basis - priority will be given to participants submitting an abstract.
Deadline for registration: 10 October 2017.
You will receive an e-mail invoice from the Lundbeck Foundation. Your registration is complete and will be confirmed once your payment is received. Please note that the registration fee is non-refundable.

Registration is free of charge for the first 10 undergraduates, for the following undergraduates the registration fee is DKK 1000,-.
Registration fee is DKK 1000,- for the first 30 PhD Students, for the following PhD Students the registration fee is DKK 2500,-.
Registration fee for all other participants is DKK 2500,-.
The fee includes all meals and lodging.

Once annually the Lundbeck Foundation awards The Brain Prize - a € 1 mio. personal research prize. The prize is awarded to nurture interest in brain research, to stimulate and reward outstanding brain research and to stimulate Danish brain research through increased interaction with international brain research.

For further information, please contact Line Kristensen:

Monday 30. October 2017
09.00 – 10.00 Arrival at Hindsgavl Castle

Session 1 - Chaired by Duda Kvitsiani
10.00 – 10.05 Opening remarks by Managing Director Kim Krogsgaard
10.05 – 10.50 Keynote Lecture by Wolfram Schultz: "A brain mechanism for getting the best reward"
10.50 – 11.35 Keynote Lecture by Peter Dayan: "Predictions, about the future"
11.35 – 12.20 Keynote Lecture by Ray Dolan: "Dopamine, prediction and human cognition"
12.20 – 13.15 Lunch

Session 2 - Flash Poster Presentation - Chaired by Morten Mørup
13.15 – 14.15 Flash presentation of posters
14.15 – 14.45 Break

Session 3 - Chaired by Peter Dayan
14.45 – 15.30 Invited Keynote Lecture I by Yael Niv: "The interaction between learning and task representations"
15.30 – 15.45 Abstract No:5 "Abnormalities in prediction error processing and saliency in early stages of psychosis"
15.45 – 16.00  Abstract No:7 "A hypothalamus-habenula circuit controls aversion"
16.00 – 16.15  Abstract No:8 "The role of dopamine and psychosis in the precision weighting of unsigned prediction errors in the dorsal anterior cingulate cortex"
16.15 – 16.45 Break

Session 4 - Chaired by Kamilla Miskowiak & Jakob Dreyer
16.45 – 17.30 Round table/panel 'all prize winners'

Session 5 - Poster viewing
17.30 – 19.00 Poster viewing and refreshments
19.00 – 20.30 Dinner

Late Night Inspirational Lecture - Chaired by Jakob Dreyer
20.45 – 21.30 Invited Keynote Lecture II by Morten Kringelbach: " Pleasure networks in the brain: evidence from neuroimaging and whole-brain computational modelling"
21.30 – Networking and refreshments

Tuesday 31 October 2017
Session 6 - Chaired by Ray Dolan
09.00 – 09.45 Invited Keynote Lecture III by Roshan Cools: "Functions of dopamine and serotonin in human decision-making and cognition"
09.45 – 10.00  Abstract No:10 "Five-factor personality is associated with aggression and mental distress in violent offenders"
10.00 – 10.15  Abstract No:15 "Simultaneous representations of a sprectrum of dynamically changing value estimates during decision making"
10.15 – 10.30  Abstract No:16 "Gamma oscillations organize top-down signaling to hypothalamus and enable food seeking"
10.30 – 11.00 Coffee break

Session 7 - Chaired by Wolfram Schultz
11.00 – 11.45 Invited Keynote Lecture IV by Patricia Janak: " Probing dopamine circuits during learning"
11.45 – 12.00  Abstract No:21 "Time to decide: How the decision time affects choices"
12.00 – 12:15  Abstract No:37 "Reward signalling in non-ergodic environments"
12.15 – 12.30  Abstract No:38 "Acute stress promotes model-free reinforcement learning and is modulated by catechol-O-methyltransferase (COMT)"
12.30 – 13.30 Lunch

Session 8 - Chaired by Kamilla Miskowiak
13.30 – 14.15 Invited Keynote Lecture V by Melanie Wilke: "Thalamic contributions to the transformation of perception into action"
14.15 – 14.30  Abstract No:46 "Dissecting the opiod system for reward, anhedonia and addiction"
14.30 – 15.00 'New Talent Talk' by Ciara McCabe: “The neurobiology of reward as a biomarker for depression and a target for psychological and pharmacological treatment”
15.00 – 15.30 Coffee break

Session 9 - Chaired by Duda Kvitsiani
15.30 – 16.15 Special Lecture by Demis Hassabis: "Explorations at the edge of knowledge”
16.15 – 16.30 Break

Session 10 - Flash Poster Presentation - Chaired by Tanja Sheldrick-Michel
16.30 – 17.30 Flash presentation of posters

Session 11 - Poster viewing
17.30 – 19.00 Poster viewing and refreshments
19.30 – Gala dinner and awarding of The Junior Brain Prize

Wednesday 1 November 2017
09.00 – 10.00 Departure Hindsgavl Castle


Scherfigsvej 7
2100 Copenhagen Ø
Tel. +45 39 12 80 00
CVR-nr. 11 81 49 13
Nils Axelsen Ralf Hemmingsen Lauritz Holm-Nielsen Ralf Hemmingsen Jens Oddershede Jens Frederik Rehfeld Anders Bjørklund