Neuroscience in Denmark

Back to overview

General information

Name (center, department, group or other)
International Diabetic Neuropathy Center and Danish Pain Research Center, Department of Clinical Medicine, Aarhus University
Contact name
Troels Staehelin Jensen
Contact email
Contact title
Professor, Center Director
9. December 2015

Brief description of research activities

The centre is the host of the International Diabetic Neuropathy Consortium IDNC (, which for the next 6 years will study mechanisms behind diabetic neuropathy and unravel risk factors for the development of painful diabetic neuropathy. IDNC is a joint consortium between Aarhus University, South Danish University, University of Oxford and University of Michigan. In addition the Danish Pain research Center is part of a 4 year EU project under Horizon 2020 to clarify risk factors for the development of pain
Current research areas include: painful diabetic neuropathy, spinal cord injury pain, chemotherapy-induced neuropathic pain, postsurgical neuropathic pain, placebo mechanisms, neuropharmacology, and neurophysiological assessment.


Mechanisms of neuropathy; pain predictors, pain physiology, neuropathic pain, pharmacological treatment

Research tools and techniques

Quantitative sensory testing, Nerve fiber assessment, Genetic studies, Autonomic measures, Neurophysiological methods, Randomized controlled trials

Scientific Personnel

No of Associate Professors/Postdocs: 3
No of PhD students: 7
Other: 4

Key references from within the last 5 years

1. Terkelsen AJ, Mølgaard H, Hansen J, Finnerup NB, Krøner K, Jensen TS. Heart rate variability in complex regional pain syndrome during rest and mental and orthostatic stress. Anesthesiology 2012; 116: 133-46. 2. Horjales-Araujo E, Demontis D, Lund EK, Vase L, Finnerup NB, Børglum AD, Jensen TS, Svensson P.Emotional modulation of muscle pain is associated with polymorphisms in the serotonin transporter gene. Pain 2013; 154: 1469-76. 4. Gilron I, Jensen TS, Dickenson AH. Combination pharmacotherapy for management of chronic pain: from bench to bedside. Lancet Neurol 2013; 12: 1084-1095. 5. Terkelsen AJ, Gierthmühlen J, Petersen LJ, Knudsen L, Christensen NJ, Kehr J, Yoshitake T, Madsen CS, Wasner G, Baron R, Jensen TS. Cutaneous noradrenaline measured by microdialysis in complex regional pain syndrome during whole-body cooling and heating. Exp Neurol 2013; 247: 456-65. 6. Haroutounian S, Nikolajsen L, Bendtsen TF, Finnerup NB, Kristensen AD, Hasselstrøm JB, Jensen TS. Primary afferent input critical for maintaining spontaneous pain in peripheral neuropathy. Pain 2014; 155: 1272-79. 7. Terkelsen AJ, Gierthmühlen J, Finnerup NB, Højlund AP, Jensen TS. Bilateral hypersensitivity to capsaicin, thermal, and mechanical stimuli in unilateral complex regional pain syndrome. Anesthesiology 2014; 120: 1225-36. 8. Jensen TS, Finnerup NB. Allodynia and hyperalgesia in neuropathic pain: Clinical characteristics and mechanisms. Lancet Neurol 2014; 13: 924-35. 9. Klit H, Hansen AP, Marcussen NS, Finnerup NB, Jensen TS. Early evoked pain or dysesthesia is a predictor of central poststroke pain. Pain. 2014;155::2699-706. 9. Schaldemose EL, Horjales-Araujo E, Svensson P, Finnerup NB. Altered thermal grill response and paradoxical heat sensations after topical capsaicin application. Pain 2015. Epub Mar 9. 10. Lund K, Vase L, Petersen GL, Jensen TS, Finnerup NB. RCTs may underestimate drug effects: balanced placebo trial design. Plos One 2014;9:e84104. 11. Demant DT, Lund K, Vollert J, Maier C, Segerdahl MD, Finnerup NB, Jensen TS, Sindrup SH. The effect of oxacarbazepine in peripheral neuropathic pain depends on pain phenotype: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled phenotype-statified study. Pain 2014;155:2263-73. 12. Finnerup NB, Attal N, Haroutounian S, McNicol E, Baron R, Dworkin RH, Gilron I, Haanpää M, Hansson P, Jensen TS, Kamerman PR, Lund K, Moore A, Raja SN, Rice AS,
Scherfigsvej 7
2100 Copenhagen Ø
Tel. +45 39 12 80 00
CVR-nr. 11 81 49 13
Nils Axelsen Ralf Hemmingsen Lauritz Holm-Nielsen Ralf Hemmingsen Jens Oddershede Jens Frederik Rehfeld Anders Bjørklund